Paper Airplane Quilt

I made this quilt almost 20 years ago in 1992 as part of challenge to use the selected fabrics.  I do not recall why I decided to use them to depict how a paper airplane was made, but as you can see that is what I did.

The quilt is machine pieced.  It is machine and hand quilted.  It measures 53 in X 15 in.

Here is the first panel which represents the unfolded sheet of typing paper.
Follow the fabrics through the panels as the “sheet” is folded on itself.

The finished paper airplane.
I didn’t put a binding on this quilt.  It is finished by using a black piping trim.

Would anyone like to have this quilt?  Leave me a comment by Dec 16, 2011.  If there is more than one who does, then I’ll draw a name.  Make sure there is a way I can email later to make arrangements for mailing.

12-18-11

I put all the names in a cup today and drew out Dawn’s name.  She has given me her address and I’ll be mailing the quilt this week.  Thank you all

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in old quilt, paper airplane. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Paper Airplane Quilt

  1. Mary Mills RN says:

    Hi Ramona – how much is your paper airplane quilt? It’s so inventive!

  2. Sandra Park says:

    I’d like to put my name in the hat. As a budding quilter and having worked in aviation for 25 years, it’s adorable and very unique!

  3. SeaSpray says:

    Ramona …I would gladly take anything you make because it is all fabulous ..quality workmanship. Arty, beautiful ..whimsical ..whatever you’ve decided to do. That being said …I’ve been a blessed recipient of one of your quilts and my granddaughter still uses it. I wish I kept it here, but I wanted it to be *hers*. :)

    I have to admit that when I first looked at this quilt …I saw a sail boat. I obviously only looked at the blocks on the right and sideways. I can totally see the airplane in progress. Unique and creative.

    Of course a SeaSpray would see a sail boat you know. :)

  4. Dawn Harden says:

    Such a work of art with a childhood innocence captured. I still have my oldest son’s paper airplane book in the bookcase that he received as a gift when he was a child. In 2006 he and his friends decided to go out to a local airport and pay for a joy ride in a private plane. The pilot let my son take over the controls. Not long after that flight my son took off for the airline academy, and in just 14 months he earned his private pilot, instrument and commercial pilot and instructor rating. He is now teaching at Sierra Academy of Aeronautics in Atwater, CA. This is the first Christmas that he will not be spending at home with his family. The quilt would be so much enjoyed in my home. I have been sewing for many years, but have never made a quilt.

  5. lindylu44 says:

    It’s beautiful, I’ve never seen anything like it. I love your color choices. I’m starting to sew again my husband gifted me with a beautiful machine, I love to rework thrift store and goodwill pieces.

  6. Sarah Gesiakowski says:

    Do you by chance have the pattern you used on this. Super creative. My husband is an paper airplane junkie and his mother is an quilt making artist but she generally does better with a solid pattern. Any chance you would be interested in sharing? Oh, and 1992 doesn’t seem that long ago….

    • rlbates says:

      Sarah, I simply made a paper airplane and then used it as the pattern. Made sure I marked each segment carefully so that as it was “refolded” I knew which fabric went where.

      • Sarah Gesiakowski says:

        Nice work. I love projects where you make original designs based on your own creative perceptions. I may try this. Maybe I could make the individual square story boards and my mother in law turn them into a quilt.

Leave a Reply

