Elephant Fabric Bag

This post is from Suture for a Living, July 25, 2007.

I finished this bag this past weekend. The fabric used to be a skirt. The elephants march around the purse and are “seamed” together such that each elephant is whole. You have to look very closely to see the seam. The fabric is quilted. The bag is fully lined with a cardboard reinforced bottom. It has a Straight Hex-Open Frame closure (18″) and 1.5″ nylon straps. The pattern and hardware are from Ghee’s. I made it to donate to a Silent Auction that the Historic Arkansas Museum will have this fall during a quilt exhibit.

I am working on a “messenger bag“. It has 2 zipper pockets and 1 magnetic-snap pocket. It will have a long strap that can be worn across the body from shoulder to hip for security. The finished size will be 12 in. by 11 1/2 in. The back of the pattern states “A make it in minutes bag, use double faced quilted fabric with belting or webbing strap. For added pizzazz, chevron strip piece.” Since I am quilting my own double faced fabric it is taking me longer, but I can use prettier fabric this way. It also gives me a chance to try to improve my “free motion” machine quilting. I do better with a walking foot and the start-stop method.

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in bags, Charity, purses and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elephant Fabric Bag

  1. Jabulani says:

    I say it again. This is beautiful, and you are an amazing woman. I am so very blessed to be your friend!

  2. Peggikaye says:

    I must say, I believe this is my favorite thing you’ve ever shown. But then, I’ve got a thing for elephants 🙂

Leave a Reply

