Crazy Quilt for a Baby

This is an old post from Suture for a Living, August 1, 2007.

 

Here is a picture of part of a baby quilt I made for one of our CRNA’s. I like to use up scraps this way. The quilt is made by sewing the strips of scrap fabric directly onto the back and batting. In this way, the “quilting” is done as you “piece” the quilt. It is never enough quilting for me though, so I always end up doing more when I am done with the pieced quilt. I, also, find that this is a quilt the mother of the baby will use. They will get on the floor with the baby and “find” things in the quilt. Where is the horse? Where is the sheep? Can you find the blue? What about red? Can you find a star? Where is the flower? Can you find the tree? or the dog? I hope that it helps with the mother-child bonding, but also with the education-by-play of the young baby-toddler. And if it doesn’t, well, I enjoyed making the quilt.

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in baby, crazy quilting, Quilt, scrappy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crazy Quilt for a Baby

  1. Jabulani says:

    I love your scrappy, crazy quilts and I never realised they were sewn straight onto the batting! The idea of a mom spending time looking for things with her child is just precious. Hubby’s aunty got one for P which was nursery African animals and we used to spend ages looking for animals and birds in the trees. That quilt unfortunately didn’t survive a wash (the batting didnt’!) and I’m going to take it to pieces and repair it. But I’m going to add a bit more quilting too!

  2. rlbates says:

    Most of them aren’t anymore. Would love to see photos of P’s quilt.

Leave a Reply

