Boston Commons Miniature Quilt

This was first posted over at Suture for a Living on February 22, 2008.

 

I made this Boston Commons miniature quilt, 24 inches X 27 inches about 10 years ago. A few months ago, I gave it to a friend. I lived in Boston (well Jamaica Plains) for two years when I was a plastic surgery resident at Boston University Hospital (trained at that hospital, the VA, Boston City Hosp, and Lahey Clinic). I enjoyed my time there.

The Sunshine and Shadow instructions given here can be used to make the Boston Commons quilt. They are similar. Some think the Boston Commons to be a variation of the Sunshine and Shadow quilt pattern based on how the Commons of Boston is laid out. Eleanor Burns published a nice instructional book on the Boston Commons quilt. You can find it here.

Here is a close up. I used fall colors because New England’s falls are so lovely.

The back is show so you can see the quilting detail.

My friend’s cat who has fallen in love with the quilt.  I love that!

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in friends, miniature, Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boston Commons Miniature Quilt

  1. Jabulani says:

    I lived in Lexington, Boston for a year in 1989/90. I LOVED Boston Common and the Gardens and, yes, New England falls are something else. I was totally in awe through all the colour-changes. I’ve never seen anything so spectacular since! Beautiful quilt and I think it’s nifty the cat’s adopted it 🙂

Leave a Reply

