Eye Patches

I first posted this over at Suture for a Living on June 2, 2010.

 

Recently one of my blog friends mentioned the need for a Latex free eye patch. She has double vision from her myasthenia gravis. She has a Latex allergy. My local stores don’t care any latex free eye patches. The elastic has latex, so the readily available ones won’t work for her. I bought one of the eye patches (less than $2) to use as a pattern. I don’t know her size, but using myself I tried it on and trimmed it until it was “comfortable”. This then became my pattern.

I had some Ultrasuede scraps that I used for the patches which I stiffen with a heavy-weight iron-on backing. To protect her from the elastic, I covered the 1/8 in elastic with 1/4 in double folded bias tape.

I am going to mail her the “pattern” and some extra supplies along with the two finished eye patches. She has mentioned a friend near her that sews. So if she wants more, maybe that friend can make them for her. Especially, if these two don’t fit properly.

I tried to get Rusty to model the patch, but he didn’t like having it over his eye. Bless him, he did allow this photo.

If you don’t want to make your own, but would like something other than the basic patch found in most stores try the links found here on the message board of the American Foundation for the Blind.

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in eye patches, friends, sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eye Patches

  1. Peggikaye says:

    Thank you again, Ramona, they have been a priceless asset to my educational persuits. It’s impossible to read with double vision. While I understand that when my vision gets like that, rest is what I need …when a paper is due or a test is coming, I don’t always have that luxery.

    Thank you, again.
    Peggikaye

  2. rlbates says:

    You are so welcome, PK. I am very proud of you.

Leave a Reply

