Pink Quilt

This was originally posted over at Suture for a Living on August 1, 2008.

 

This quilt is one I made for Vijay‘s daughter. She wanted it to be pink and it is. It is very, very pink! I went through the fabric my neighbor had given me and found several pinks in the fat quarter, some of which were not “whole” fat quarters. The concentric courthouse steps pattern seemed to be a good way to show off the pink fabrics and make use of the small amounts I had of each. Here is the result

The quilt is 43 in X 43 in. It is machine pieced and quilted. I wish the quilting showed better. I used a heart pattern (four hearts looped together) in the center. Then used a “daisy & leaf” pattern around the outer part of each. The border is then a woven rope pattern.

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in friends, Quilt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pink Quilt

  1. Jabulani says:

    This is the quilt that P saw and said she wanted one like it. Then she got the beautiful Autumn Leaves one and told me it was “just perfect”. When I pointed out there wasn’t a bit of pink to be seen, she said “It doesn’t matter, it’s my very own Aunty Dr Ramona quilt.” So there you have it: there are some things more important than pink!!!

Leave a Reply

