Log Cabin Quilt in Blues and Greens

This was originally posted over at Suture for a Living on August 29, 2008.  Update on the girl: She is now a senior in college, doing well.  🙂

 

A friend’s niece was hit by a drunk driver earlier this month. Unable to do anything else for the girl, I ask if I could make her a quilt. I was told she likes blue and green. I like the log cabin pattern. It goes together quickly and the blocks can be arranged in various ways to showcase the colors — straight setting, sunshine and shadow, furrows, and barn raising.

I picked out several blues and greens from my stash and made this scrappy furrows log cabin quilt. It is machine pieced and is 50 in X 63 in. I machine quilted it using the in-the-ditch method.

Here is a close up to show some of the fabrics.

Now I have a plea:

Please, have a safe holiday (Labor Day) weekend AND don’t drink and drive.   Thank you.

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in friends, Quilt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

