Works in Progress

This was originally posted over at Suture for a Living on September 5, 2008.

I am participating in Another Little Quilt Swap again. I have the little quilt I am making pieced. Here is a picture of it, as I get ready to baste it and then hand quilt it. The pattern is a flower basket that I found on Jinny Beyer’s website. I have always been a fan of her work.

Here is a knitted shawl that I have been working on for several months now. It gets put aside whenever there is a quilt to work on, but I am slowly getting it finished. I am a self-taught knitter. I have only done a couple of simple sweaters (intimidated by the necks and sleeves) and was not really happy with how they turned out. I usually stick to hats and scarves. A love of lace work has drawn me into knitting shawls. The pattern is from All Tangled Up and is called Kiri Shawl (pdf of pattern). I am using Kid Merino yarn (color 4677).  I’ll finish it eventually and will show you the finished shawl then.

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in ALQS, knitting, quilting, work in progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Works in Progress

  1. Jabulani says:

    The basket quilt is one of my favourites. And the shawl is quite lovely. I have a new book with a shawl pattern in it which I’m going to have a go at. There’s a poncho too which caught my attention. Sadly they all have to wait whilst I work on a baby blanket for one of the teacher’s at school and a baby quilt for a girlfriend who is due to drop within the month! Btw, I’ll nip over to Arkansas and come help you get over your intimidation shall I? 🙂

  2. rlbates says:

    I would love that!

Leave a Reply

