Hawaiian Quilt Lobster Style

This was originally posted over at Suture for a Living on October 4, 2008.

 

As you can see from the time line in the Twitter messages, the idea for this quilt began more than a month ago.   I went back through the messages too late to find the first one where I believe Theresa (ruraldoctoring) or maybe it was PeggiKaye asked if I had ever seen or made a lobster quilt block.  At the time Zippy was at Theresa’s and was about to head to Hawaii with Happy (Hospitalist). 

@ruraldoctoring I found a lobster quilt block pattern.   http://www.doughtydesigns.com/…”   August 25 at 2:42 pm
@rlbates Yay lobster quilt! Maybe put that on your to-do list for someday. Would be a great fundraiser to raffle/auction it off.   August 25 at 3:40 pm
@rlbates I love the Lighthouses and Lobster pattern. It looks like Zippy (not as cute, of course). Not crazy about the background, tho’.   August 25 at 3:47 pm
Lobsters http://twitpic.com/bkz7 01:55 PM September 14, 2008 from twitterrific
@ruraldoctoring So true. What do you think of my lobsters? 02:10 PM September 14, 2008 from twitterrific in reply to ruraldoctoring

@rlbates I *LOVE* the lobsters. It looks like a Mexican paper-cut decoration! Love them! 02:13 PM September 14, 2008 from twhirl in reply to rlbates

@rlbates How many quilts do you work on at one time? 02:13 PM September 14, 2008 from twhirl in reply to rlbates

@ruraldoctoring Some times only one & sometimes several. Usually in different stages. It’s an Hawaiian appliqué 02:16 PM September 14, 2008 from twitterrific in reply to ruraldoctoring
@rlbates Because you’re so productive! I’ve never quilted, but have been a knitter for years and there are 100s of UFOs in my house! 02:18 PM September 14, 2008 from twhirl in reply to rlbates
Cathy627  @rlbates I love the lobsters. It looks like a cut out snow flake. 02:20 PM September 14, 2008 from web in reply to rlbates
Cathy627  @rlbates did you design that Lobster pattern yourself? 02:56 PM September 14, 2008 from web in reply to rlbates
@Cathy627 Yes, but it is a blend of two patterns. I’ll post about it when I get farther along 03:27 PM September 14, 2008 from twitterrific in reply to Cathy627
Cathy627  @rlbates OK. I will look forward to that post. 03:53 PM September 14, 2008 from web in reply to rlbates

 

So Cathy, here’s the explanation of how I arrived at the pattern.  I enlarged the lobster pattern I found here and then “blended” it into the “Hoya” Hawaiian appliqué block.   The Hoya block I found in a book I have called Hawaiian Quilting by Elizabeth Root.

This is the result. 

Currently, I am prepping the appliqué.  I basted around the pattern and am now using temporary fabric glue to “hold” the turned edges.  The red lobster/hoya appliqué will be sewn onto the blue fabric.

I’m not a fast hand appliquér.  I am toying with the idea of trying to machine appliqué this one.  We’ll see. 

[And by the way, Theresa, there are many UFO’s around my house, too.]

You might also like:

Progress Note on Hawaiian Lobster Quilt

Hawaiian Lobster Quilt is Finished!

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in applique, Charity, friends, Hawaiian applique, Quilt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hawaiian Quilt Lobster Style

  1. Jabulani says:

    Great talent, for a great lady.

  2. stitchhack says:

    What a fun twist! I got that book in Kauai a long time ago, and I have only made the maile block. I didn’t do enough contrast, though. I did learn that hand applique is something I may have to grow to love.

Leave a Reply

