Wild Rose Quilt Block

This was originally posted over at Suture for a Living on January 30, 2009.

 

The summer block of my Four Seasons quilt is the wild rose block. I found it in the “Award Winning Quilts” by Effie Chalmers Pforr (published in 1974). It was submitted by Mrs Rex Watson of Valparaiso, Indiana. She is quoted

“I chose the Wild Rose pattern because it makes such a beautiful quilt, and it brings back memories of girlhood days on the farm, where we had the delicate wild rose blooming along the fence row.”

It could have been my own words. I love wild roses.

I replaced the “satin-like” fabric center with a slightly smaller yellow cotton center. I like it much better. I did the machine stitching on the leaves, buds, and flowers BEFORE doing the quilting. I have outlined quilted the roses/leaves and then cross-hatched the background.

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in applique, quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

