Hands Across America Flag Quilt

This was originally posted over at Suture for a Living  on January 23, 2009.

 

Taking a break from my four seasons quilt, let me show you this flag quilt that I made in 1999.  I was inspired by the stars and bars flag of the American Civil War, by the eagle motif I found in an old book, and a sign I saw around the same time with the @ overlying a hand.  The name of my quilt is “hands across America”.  I designed three hands with the letters “U”, “S”, and “A” (using @ for my A).  I appliqued this shapes using small flags for the fabric.  The quilt is 23 in X 39 in, both machine and hand sewn/quilted.

Here is a close photo of the eagle.  I used the machine trapunto method for the “relief” effect.  That’s correct, the eagle is machine quilted.  The “rays” are hand quilted.

Here is the back to show the quilting of the eagle.

Here is a close view of the letter “A”/hand.

It is my hope that as America moves forward with her new President that we will all work together for her good.

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in applique, eagle, flag quilt, wall hanging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

