Buckeye’s Baby Quilt

This was originally posted over at Suture for a Living on February 13, 2009.

This baby quilt is for our blog friend, Buckeye Surgeon.  His wife will be having a baby soon.  I have no idea whether the baby is girl or boy.  I hope I made it interesting for either, though I admit I found myself hoping the baby will be a boy.  Mostly I hope the baby is healthy.

I stumbled across this pattern while browsing through one of my quilting books.  It was a loose page I had saved from a flyer years ago.  It was called “Sunday Funshine Quilt”.  I can’t find who to credit it to.  They called the basic block – Funshine Block.  Think nine-patch.  The top and bottom row of the block is 2.5 in X 6.5 in rectangle.  The center row is made of three 2.5 in squares.  The finished block is then 6 in.

The quilt measures 42 in X 48 in.  It is made of scrapes and partial fat quarters.  It is machine pieced and quilted.

Here is a close photo to show some of the interesting fabrics.  I love the motorcycle tire in the center of the blue batik block.  I love the football player, the lion, and the “feet”.

Here’s another detail shot.  Here you’ll find a steer, a cowboy, an angel, and the front end of a race car.

This is the back.  I found this lovely flannel fabric in the remnant bin.  It was just over a yard of fabric, not quite enough for the back.  I sewed some dark green/brown flannel to each end.  Appropriate for Valentine’s Day – don’t you think?

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in baby, friends, Quilt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

