Star of Bethlehem Quilt

This was originally posted over at Suture for a Living on June 12, 2009. 

 

I made this wall hanging back in 2003.  It hung in my office for a few years and then I gave it to my sister Jeanne.  She uses it on the foot of her bed.  Recently, I got her to take some photos of it and send them to me so I could share it.

The  pattern is called the “star of Bethlehem” or “lone star.”  I machine pieced the quilt which is 49 in square.  It is machine and hand quilted.

The machine quilting was done “in the ditch” around the diamonds and border.  I then hand quilted the open areas and the outline quilting of the diamonds.

My “corners” where the diamonds meet weren’t perfect, so to hide this I embroidered around the diamonds with gold metallic thread.

Here is a partial photo of the back to show the quilting.

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in family, Star of Bethlehem, stars, wall hanging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Star of Bethlehem Quilt

  1. Jabulani says:

    Beautiful. Again… 😉

Leave a Reply

