May You Be Warm This Christmas

This was originally posted over at Suture for a Living on December 25, 2009.

 

 

Earlier this fall, I knitted my first pair of sock at the urging of Dr Smak, Dr Cris, and Geek2Nurse.  Those are my feet as I “modeled” them for a photo.

I gave them to my stepmother-in-law for her birthday.  She and my father-in-law were so impressed with them, they both began hinting that he needed a pair as his feet get cold.   He’s getting this pair for Christmas, modeled here by his son/my husband who now wants a pair.

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas filled with warm feet, warm wishes, and warm hearts!

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in family, knitting, socks. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to May You Be Warm This Christmas

  1. Danielle says:

    They look great! I’m a relatively new knitter (I’ve posted some of my stuff on my wordpress page: nellsknitting) and haven’t done a pair of socks yet. Did you find them easy to do? I’ve found some patterns that I want to try but I’m a little daunted by the idea!

    • rlbates says:

      Danielle, I found my first several pairs of socks a bit intemidating but had encouragement from friends. Socks are fun to knit, but I think I still prefer caps and scarfs. This may change as I do more socks. Dive in! There are some great videos on youtube that can help if you get stuff (I still go to one when I get to the toe grafting).

      • Danielle says:

        Great! Thanks for the advice 🙂 I’ll definitely check it out. Those heels and toes are are what scare me! And there are a few different methods so I just don’t know where to start!

Leave a Reply

