Taylor’s Horses Quilt

This was originally posted over at Suture for a Living on May 28, 2010.

 

I was asked by a fellow blogger if I knew anyone who could make a horse quilt for his 4 yo daughter.  What do you think I said? 

I looked through my quilt books and only found appliqué patterns, so I searched the web and found this paper-pieced horse block by Annette Truong

I wanted the quilt to be something she would like at 4 years of age and at 14 years of age.   I made the horses in blacks and browns and set the blocks into stars of  bright colors (pinks, greens, purples, blues, oranges). 

The quilt is machine pieced and quilted.  It measures 42 in X 56 in.

Here are some closer photos to show the horses and fabrics.

This horse reminds me of a palomino.

This is my version of the “old grey mare.”

Here’s a quarter horse.

Here is a photo of part of the back to try to show the quilting.

I received this tweet the day after Taylor received it.

@rlbates Taylor slept with “horsies” last night and dragged it everywhere she went 🙂 Awesome, nothing better than a child’s smile 🙂 thx

I’m thrilled that she loves it!

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in child, friends, horses, Quilt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taylor’s Horses Quilt

  1. This is incredibly awesome. Love the horse pattern, I like how it mimics the new york style of curved piece blocks, but those horses are just Darling!

  2. Lou dadyburjor says:

    Can you tell me where you found the pattern for this lovely “old grey mare” quilt.

    • rlbates says:

      Lou, the link in the blog post was to the block origin. It appears to be a dead link and I have been unable to re”find” an active link to the pattern this morning. Sorry.

  3. Lou dadyburjor says:

    Thank you for trying.to find the pattern for me. I have a beautiful mare that I rescued from Best Friends Animal Sanctuary in Kanab Utah. She is a pet with bad leg from birth and can’t be ridden. The horses in this quilt looks so much like her. I love the quilt. Colors so beautiful. Just love everything about it.

Leave a Reply

