Hawaiian Quilt for a Friend

Years ago a friend asked me to make a quilt for his wife for their anniversary.  He wanted a queen size.  She like frogs and tropical stuff.  I took on the ambitious project of a Hawaiian appliqué quilt using fabric with frogs, parrots, lizards, etc for the center.  The entire appliqué was done by hand and took me almost 6 months.  I then had my friend Scottie Brooks to do the hand quilting.  I regret that I didn’t get a photo of the finished quilt.  This photo is of the finished top.  The quit was finished in November 2001 (quilted and bound).  It measures 104 in square.

I cropped the above photo to try to show more of the detail, but these photos do not do it justice.  And while I am still friends with the husband, he and she are no longer together, so I can’t get new and better photos. 

About rlbates

plastic surgeon who quilts, loves family, dog person, walks/jogs, a work-in-progress
This entry was posted in applique, friends, Hawaiian applique. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hawaiian Quilt for a Friend

  1. A beautiful quilt, thank you for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

